Basic stuff for a greater life

photo

Life is a wonderful journey, a great opportunity that just few decide to take advantage of. It is important to know that failure and error are essential for learning. Not so long ago I decided to change my life,  I thought that I wanted to live and work for a greater cause than myself. I felt that I wasn’t living the life that I wanted. I asked myself what is my biggest fear? The future. Generally speaking societies are so worried about the future and in fact, this doesn’t really exist. We create our own destiny everyday. Many theories and psychological studies had proved that living day by day will give you the happiness that we are all seeking. It seems easy but it is quite difficult in this big, fast paced, modern world. According to Dr. Nicholas Christakis and James Fowler, researchers at Harvard University of San Diego, happiness is contagious. Their research depicted that every additional happy person that a person encounters will increase a person’s probability of being happy by about 9%.

We forget basic and easy stuff that our ancestors and ourselves used to do without even thinking. I stopped my life and I saw that I was doing the same. I wasn’t living for me, I wasn’t doing anything for me, not loving me or working for me. I forgot the basic stuff.

To breathe. I’m 21 years-old and I’m not ashamed to say that I am now learning to breath in and out through all my days. Breathing is one of the most important things in life. It is what keeps us living but most important is what makes us conscious that we are ALIVE.

To listen. I am now learning to listen, about other people’s problems and opinions. It seems easy too, well, it is not. God gave us two ears and one mouth for a reason. Listen before you talk you and you will learn much more and have a better understanding of what you really wanted to say.

To love. People forget that the most important thing is to LOVE themselves. Everyone needs to love each and every single part of who they are. People as a whole need to stop punishing themselves and thinking that they do not have control over their own lives and futures. People have a fear of not meeting their expectations and are plagued with negative thoughts that their minds produce which ultimately lead to anxiety, stress and depression. Its important to visualize what you want. “When we have fear without cause we invent a cause to justify the fear”, the 7 powers by Alex Rovira.

To be thankful. Thanks for my family, thanks for this sunny day, thanks for my friends, thanks my health, thanks for this beautiful house, be thankful for every single moment of your day because you will only live it once.

To meditate. I forgot to stop the world and look inside of me. I decided to dedicate 20 minutes to myself every morning before starting  the engine of my brain and body. I start my day being gentle with my heart and letting the mind clear of thoughts.

Basic stuff that needs to be taken seriously when you really want to live a full, beautiful and true life.

When to start? What about today?

Some tips:

Free App for meditation called: Headspace.

Free smiles and hugs every morning.

Thank you “friend”, “boyfriend”, “teacher”, “mom”…

Focus on what you like and love without limitations.

Breathe, dance, sing and laugh for free!

Hope you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

